ISECG Lunar Polar Volatiles Virtual Workshops

Completed Workshops  (see CALENDAR page for future workshops)


Workshop #4: Lunar Volatiles Acquisition Technologies
Sep 14, 2016 (0600 PDT / 0900 EDT / 1300 UTC / 1500 CEST / 2200 JST-KST)
Duration: 2 hours

What are the most needed lunar exploration technologies to demonstrate polar volatile sample acquisition (e.g. extraction, excavation, transfer)?
____

Moderator: John Gruener & Nantel Suzuki (NASA; USA)
Panelists:
Dr. Philip Metzger (Univ of Central Florida; USA)
Dr. Sachiko Wakabayashi (JAXA; Japan)
Dr. Andrea Zamboni (Leonardo SpA; Italy)
Dr. Rob Mueller (NASA Kennedy Space Center; USA)

AGENDA:
Polar Regolith Properties — Philip Metzger
Sample Acquisition: Drilling & Particle Transport — Sachiko Wakabayashi
PROSPECT Drilling & Sample Collection — Andrea Zamboni (presented by James Carpenter)
NASA Lunar Volatiles Acquisition Technology — Rob Mueller
————————————————————————-
WORKSHOP RECORDING (using Adobe Connect)
SUMMARY FINDINGS
————————————————————————-


Workshop #3: Lunar Surface Prospecting Instruments

Jul 6, 2016  (0600 PDT / 0900 EDT / 1300 UTC / 1500 CEST / 2200 JST-KST)
Duration:  2 hours

What instruments may be most valuable on the lunar surface to locate and characterize polar volatile deposits and determine their distribution, composition, abundance, etc?
Moderator:  Dr. James Carpenter (ESA ESTEC; The Netherlands)
Panelists:
Dr. Simeon Barber (Open University; UK)
Dr. Valérie Ciarletti (LATMOS laboratory; France)
Dr. Tony Colaprete (NASA Ames Research Center; USA)
Dr. Rick Elphic (NASA Ames Research Center; USA)
Dr. Roger Wiens (Los Alamos National Laboratory; USA)

AGENDA:
Mass Spectrometry — Simeon Barber
Ground Penetrating Radar — Valérie Ciarletti
Near-Infrared Spectroscopy — Tony Colaprete
Neutron Spectroscopy — Rick Elphic
Laser-Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy (LIBS) — Roger Wiens
Discussion
————————————————————————-
WORKSHOP RECORDING 
(using Adobe Connect)
SUMMARY FINDINGS
————————————————————————-


Workshop #2:  Where to Explore, and How

Jan 20, 2016 (0500 PST / 0800 EST / 1300 UTC / 1400 CET / 2200 JST-KST)
Duration:  2 hours

–Based on current knowledge, what are the most promising Regions of Interest for lunar polar volatile resource prospecting?
–Given the unique polar environment (e.g. extreme temperatures; dynamic, low-angle sunlight and shadows; limited line-of-sight earth-communications, uncertain soil mechanics), how can lunar exploration systems and instrumentation be used to prospect, characterize, acquire, process, and utilize polar volatiles?
Moderator: Mr. Nantel Suzuki (NASA Headquarters; USA)
Panelists
:
Dr. Angel Abbud-Madrid (Colorado School of Mines ; President, Space Resources Roundtable; USA)
Mr. Dale Boucher (Deltian Innovations Ltd.; Canada)
Dr. Tony Colaprete (NASA Ames Research Center; USA)
Dr. Jessica Flahaut (Univ of Lyon ; Member, ESA Topical Team on Exploitation of Local Planetary Materials; France)
Ms. Myriam Lemelin (Univ of Hawaii ; Member, LEAG Polar Volatiles Special Action Team; USA)
Dr. Makiko Ohtake (JAXA/Institute of Space and Astronautical Science; Japan)
Dr. David Wettergreen (Carnegie Mellon University; USA)

AGENDA
Where to explore:
Regions of interest identified by LEAG StudyMyriam Lemelin
Regions of interest, European perspectiveJessica Flahaut
Regions of interest, JAXA perspectiveMakiko Ohtake
How shall we explore (prospecting strategy, kinds of missions, what sequence):
Ore body definition & valuation, aka Prospecting 101 — Dale Boucher
Strategic approach to prospecting & utilizationAngel Abbud-Madrid
Lunar prospecting – the why, what, and how — Tony Colaprete
Wide-area
lunar prospecting — David Wettergreen
Discussion

————————————————————————-
WORKSHOP RECORDING (using Adobe Connect)
SUMMARY FINDINGS
————————————————————————-


Workshop #1: Lunar Datasets

Nov 18, 2015 (0500 PST / 0800 EST / 1300 UTC / 1400 CET / 2200 JST-KST)
Duration: 2 hours

–What remote sensing scientific instruments from lunar orbit or Earth have produced the most beneficial datasets to identify lunar polar volatiles deposits?
–What are the most promising scientific instruments for use on the lunar surface to refine our understanding of the abundance, distribution, composition, form, and accessibility of lunar polar volatile deposits?
Expected Outcome:
1. A better understanding of the datasets that are available to assess lunar polar volatile deposits.
2. A better understanding of the type of scientific instruments that should be used on lunar surface missions to prospect for lunar polar volatile deposits.
3. Progress in mission planning to address the ISECG lunar cold trap volatiles strategic knowledge gap (SKG).
Moderator:  Dr. James Carpenter (ESA ESTEC; The Netherlands)
Panelists:
Dr. Mahesh Anand (Open University ; Chair, ESA Topical Team on Exploitation of Local Planetary Materials; UK)
Dr. Ko Hashizume (Osaka University; Japan)
Dr. Paul Hayne (Jet Propulsion Laboratory; USA)
Dr. David Lawrence (Applied Physics Laboratory; USA)
Dr. Paul Lucey (University of Hawaii; Chair, LEAG Polar Volatiles Special Action Team; USA)
Dr. Paul Spudis (Lunar and Planetary Institute, USA)

AGENDA:
Introduction
— James Carpenter
LRO Volatiles Overview
— Paul Hayne
LEAG Volatiles Study
— Paul Lucey
ESA Topical Team Response to LEAG Study — Mahesh Anand
Isotope Measurements
— Ko Hashizume
Radar Data
— Paul Spudis
Neutron Measurements
— David Lawrence
Discussion
————————————————————————-
WORKSHOP RECORDING 
(using Adobe Connect)
SUMMARY FINDINGS
————————————————————————-

Suggested Reading:
–LEAG Lunar Volatiles Study (Dec 2014)
–European Response to LEAG study (Sep 2015)
–Links to additional references here